ccg13

Lost on the IF Highway

Some Weird Symptoms!!! June 16, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Lost on the IF Highway @ 3:56 PM
Tags: , ,

So, I have had some crazy health “issues” lately (if that’s what you want to call them).  After speaking with my doctor, I followed her advice. She told me to get back on the prenatal vitamins and up m Vitamin E and Zinc.  She also put me on a sulfonamide antibiotic for this stupid bump I have on my eyelid.  Then, of course, there was the “stand on your head” advice.

That was a few weeks ago.  About a week after I started all the new “meds”, I noticed a drastic change in the way I felt.  It was a Friday night.  I had taken several boxes of rummage to a friend’s house for a Relay for Life rummage sale that we would be working the next day. It was VERY hot out so my stepdaughter SJ and I went into the house to cool off before we drove home.  SJ played with my friend’s little boy in his playroom for a bit while I sat and talked with my friend about what would go on the next day.  I started feeling funny and told SJ we had to get going.

Just before leaving for my friend’s we had supper.  I was taking my zinc, the sulfonamide, and Vit.E. with supper and taking the prenatal before bed (because it makes me nauseous if I take it while I’m awake).  This was about two hours after I had taken the meds so I assumed they were making me feel funny.  I rushed home, put SJ to bed, and laid down myself because I started feeling like I was going to vomit.  Within an hour I started sweating and feeling very hot. I took my temp. It was 101.42 and I was having trouble breathing.  I took my pulse. It was 135 (around 70 is normal for those of you who don’t know).  I called my husband and he wanted me to go to the ER. Our ER is ridiculous. They’re good for a band-aid, and they’ll charge you $500 for that!  I wasn’t driving with SJ in the car all the way to the next town feeling the way I did. I said I would wait until he was home.  He came home around 11:30pm and had his mother in tow.  She checked my BP and it was 125/90.  My usual BP is about 90/60.  She also wanted me to go to the ER, but I refused.  I was certain it was the meds.

The next day, I didn’t take the sulfonamide but I did continue with the other vitamins.  I felt “OK” but not great the entire day. I’m sure sitting out in the sun all day didn’t help. We had a trip to the zoo about an hour and a half way planned for the next day.  I tried to take it as easy as possible on Saturday to avoid missing out on G’s (my nephew) first trip to the zoo.  I got through the zoo OK, but I had to stop and sit down several times throughout the day because I got short-winded.

I still have moments where I get winded, especially if I am in the heat or get too exerted (like in Zumba class), but the temp, nausea, etc. are all gone.  I just can’t breathe very well sometimes, and that occassionally causes dizziness.  My sis-in-law (SIL) swears up and down I am pregnant, because those are the same “unexplainable” symptoms she had when she first became pregnant this time last year and just didn’t know she was pregnant yet.

Other things I have noticed over the last two weeks (besides the breathing issue) is a fast heartbeat from time to time, strange little muscle spasms (like when it feels like your heart is beating in your bicep, your calf, your belly, etc), and a loss of appetite.  Although, today I feel like I could eat the HOUSE!  My lower belly has a “full” feeling (almost like a bloated, hard feeling) all the time, heartburn almost every time I eat, and I’ve had a lot of aches and pains in my lower back and hips.  I’ve never had any of these symptoms before, and I’ve been having them all pretty regularly ever since about a week after I started the new meds (and the new positions suggested by my doctor).  By the way, the day I got sick was day 11 in my cycle.

WARNING: THE FOLLOWING PARAGRAPH IS A LITTLE GRAPHIC (Sorry for being gross)

So many people have told me that I “must be pregnant” but I have learned to never get my hopes up.  Although, I have to admit this is probably the most hopeful I have ever allowed myself to get in five years!  I’m on day 24 of my cycle. I run 27-day cycles and I haven’t so much as had a single period-esque cramp.  However, I have suddenly had a lot of white-ish discharge over the last week, and two days ago I passed two itsy-bitsy, teeny-tiny little bloody chunks of something.  I have no clue what they were and they were too small to tell anyway.  They weren’t just blood droplets, because they were pinkish, like tissue, but had some blood on them.  However, I haven’t seen any blood or tissue since, just the white-ish stuff.  I don’t have a clue what any of this means.

OKAY. I’M DONE BEING GROSS! =)

So, with all these symptoms, M wanted me to get a PT yesterday, but I know it will be negative so I’m just totally against it.  Why waste my savings on PT’s when I can just wait to get my period in a few days? It’s a waste of money and a waste of stress!  I think PT’s are a COMPLETE waste, unless you’re not having a period for some reason.  If you’re still having a period and you can at least guess at the day it will likely come, why waste money on a PT?  Now OVT’s are definitely an investment if you’re trying to get pregnant. I hate the POAS routine, but it’s better than feeling like I’m not doing anything (aside from standing on my head and popping vitamins of course).

I know most of you are thinking “GO TO A DOCTOR, STUPID!!!”  I would, but I have financial assistance with my doctor, and you have to reapply every 90 days because assistance expires every three months.  My most recent visit fell on my 90-day deadline, so I had to reapply to see how much of my last visit I will have to pay out-of-pocket.  Once my financial assistance amount is decided (it’s a percentage, usually around 50%), then I can go back.  However, my FA only pays for visits/tests that are considered detrimental to my overall health.  It does not cover visits/tests that are solely IF related.  It will pay for a portion of my last visit because the doctor also saw me for other issues not related to IF.  It would pay for a portion of this visit about the discharge and heart-related symptoms because that is not directly related to IF.  However, anything directly related to IF will not be paid for by my FA and I will have to pay for that out-of-pocket.

With that in mind, does anyone know which route I should take?  Our doctor is resistant to the SA because M’s insurance won’t cover it.  How do I go about getting one done w/o our doctor? Does M need to see someone else?  Is there a way for us to choose the lab we use so that we can sort of “choose” our cost?  My doctor told me an SA can cost up to $700 but all of the blogs I read say they cost between $40-$300.  I can afford $200-$300 at the most right now. (Trying to save our budget for the heavy-duty stuff if we get into IF treatments.)

What is the first step for me to take if it turns out I’m the one who’s infertile?  All my friends who have any experience at all with IF say that Chlomid is the way to go.  Is that cheaper than other IF treatments?  What about this BeeFertile stuff that Joshua was talking about?  Is it safe? Is it effective?  How expensive is it?

Still feeling very lost here!  Maybe I will just be VERY VERY lucky and all these symptoms mean I am pregnant so I can just be done with all of this! Wouldn’t that be FABULOUS???

 

2 Responses to “Some Weird Symptoms!!!”

  1. Jackie Says:

    Yikes…scary symptoms. I hope for you that they’re pregnancy-related, but they don’t sound fun anyway. Have you taken that antibiotic before? I react horribly to sulfa antibiotics, and it’s very common to have bad reactions to them. Just a thought.
    As for the first step to take if you’re the one who’s infertile – it will depend of course on the specific cause. Clomid is common, as is Femara (similar, but supposedly has fewer side effects. Also more expensive I think.)
    Hope you’re feeling better now!

    • I’m feeling quite a bit better, thank you. I still get short of breath from time to time, which does cause dizziness. However, most of the other symptoms are gone. I finally gave up on the sulfonamide and quit taking it. My doctor strongly urged me not to (especially since the bump on my eye has gotten much smaller and is hardly noticeable). However, I was miserable. My quality of life is much more affected by my inability to breath than it is by a small bump on my eye…. I really hope I am pregnant. I’m supposed to start tomorrow and haven’t had any of the normal “PMS” symptoms, but it seems like every period is different. We shall see in the morning. I usually start in the very early morning.


Leave a Reply

